Armagnac Soils


Armagnac vineyard
Armagnac : Soil and Appellations
Bas-Armagnac on the west is an undulating country; the grapevine grows on poor and sour argilo-siliceous fields, by blended places of ferruginous elements which colour it, where come their name of fawn sands. Boulbènes, characteristic sediments of the region, are grounds with slimy dominant feature. This area produces very well-known and delicate, light and fruity brandies.

Armagnac-Ténarèze in the centre is a transition area. Boulbènes and argilo-calcareous terreforts can be found there. Brandies are in general more full-bodied. They reach their fullness after a long ageing.

Haut-Armagnac In the South and in the East is very outspread. Hills introduce calcareous and argilo-calcareous soil whose valleys are sometimes covered of boulbènes. The grapevine is represented by some islets there.

Source BNIA

 

  • Contact Us
  • General Conditions of Sale
  • (°) Overconsumption of alcohol is dangerous to your health. Consume in moderation.

    Powered by LogiVert

Terroirs de l'Armagnac


Le vignoble de l'Armagnac
Armagnac : Le terroir et les Appellations  

Le Bas-Armagnac à l'ouest est un pays vallonné ; la vigne y pousse sur des terrains argilo-siliceux pauvres et acides, par endroits mêlés d'éléments ferrugineux qui le colorent, d'où leur nom de sables fauves. Les boulbènes, sédiments caractéristiques de la région, sont des sols à dominante limoneuse.
Cette zone produit des eaux-de-vie légères, fruitées, délicates et très réputées.

L'Armagnac-Ténarèze au centre est une zone de transition. On y trouve des boulbènes et des terreforts argilo-calcaires. Les eaux-de-vie sont généralement plus corsées. Elles atteignent leur plénitude après un long vieillissement.

Le Haut-Armagnac au Sud et à l'est est très étendu. Les collines présentent des sols calcaires et argilo-calcaires dont les vallées sont parfois recouvertes de boulbènes. La vigne y est représentée par quelques îlots.
Source BNIA

 

  • Nous contacter
  • Conditions Générales de Vente
  • ) L'abus d'alcool est dangereux pour la santé, à consommer avec modération.

    Powered by LogiVert